Who would I want to be for a day? | Daily Prompt

Daily Prompt: Freaky Friday

If you could be someone else for a day, who would you be, and why? If that seems too easy, try this one: who would you like to have spend a day as you and what do you hope they’d learn from the experience?

At first, I wasn’t interested to post about this DP. I was thinking like ” who would I want to be for a day? “. I am content of who I am , why would I long to be someone I can’t?

I can’t and wouldn’t like to be a movie star, a politician or anybody with all the glitterati and glamorous lifestyle brings, not to mention what goes in and around it. I am me, content in my life.

Then again, I contemplated.

I would want to be my mom for a day, to experience life at her wonderful age.

Mothers are the epitome of selfless human beings. Most of them will sacrifice for their kids.

My mother is 65 years old. She’s a widow at 44. She loved us and my dad so much that after my dad died she devoted her life raising us, selfless as it can be, she didn’t remarry.She said that I am happy with what I have now, “why would I ask for more and complicate things?”.  A greatest example of what love is all about, sacrifice and all.

I caused her pain one way or another, and I can never equate it with all the love she showered me since birth. She once said ” you will only experience what’s a mother’s love is all about when you have your baby “…..which is impossible in this lifetime.

Now, she is having a good time enjoying her life with the grandkids, socializing and serving the community, apart from having a great time with her friends.   Her faith encompasses a lot of her character.

60160_470741706806_59652_n

She was a teacher too, she influenced me the love of teaching. She has the warmest smile and the  charisma of a movie star. That’s my mom, and I would want to be her for a day.

I’d like to experience the limelight she receives from the community. I’d like to experience the love she gets from her kids and her grandkids.

69759_1588182302065_2690255_n6408_1199758155683_4632860_n

And most of all , I’d like to experience the way she communes with God.She has enormous faith, the never-say-die attitude, the drive! It’s the mommy thing, only moms can give that to their kids.

I would want to be her for a day, to feel everything :  the unconditional love, the glorious years, the wonderful life!

Isn’t she amazing?

About atomickaleidoscope

A succinct and eclectic Electronics Engineer by profession although I preferred to teach as a passion. In this journey called life all i can say is : C'EST LA VIE ! CHEERS!
This entry was posted in Musings about LIFE, Teacher! Teacher! and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Who would I want to be for a day? | Daily Prompt

  1. sterlingsop says:

    Thanks for the pingback. Your Mom sounds like the kind of woman I wish I could be too, she sounds lovely. Best wishes.

  2. So welcome. Thank you for the amazing words! She’s that kind of mama ! Cheers!

  3. What a lovely legacy your Mom has given to you! Print out this post and give it to her! I should only hope that my children would feel the same about me someday! You are blessed and very special. Enjoy every moment!
    And thanks for the pingback ~ happy to have connected with you!

  4. dmauldin53 says:

    A beautiful, loving, and warm post. Your mother is lucky to have a daughter like you. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Mom’s Day! | Kaleidoscopic World in Words

Leave a Reply

